Walking the Walk

Walking the Walk

Is that a pager? Nay friends, that’s my FitBit pedometer that I’ve been using for the past two years. The pedometer collects steps taken, calories burned, active score, and other stats, and uploads them online. Not only that, they have a function that posts your weekly stats to your twitter account!

In order to keep myself accountable to the community (to really “practice what I preach”), I’ll be uploading my stats to the APIOPA twitter (@fightapiobesity).

Additional data that the pedometer gives me online:

A healthy goal for most people is 10,000 steps a day. Having this pedometer (and really, you could use any pedometer and it’d be the same) has really made me more aware of how many steps I take in a day, and has helped me “readjust” throughout the day to make sure I find extra ways to add more steps to my count. This includes taking the stairs instead of the elevator, encouraging “walking meetings,” parking further away, and taking public transportation.

